Skittles and Ice Tea

Posted: August 23, 2014 in Altar Ego, Music, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

mike brown

As a response to all the terrible things happening in Ferguson in Missouri, I want to get better at using my voice, my words, and my songs to actively speak out against injustice that I see in the world.  After Trayvon Martin died last year, I wrote a song in his memory.  I never got around to recording it and I still haven’t yet done so although I want to.  I figured I’d at least share the lyrics and hope that it might connect with someone else who has a heavy heart in the midst of all the unnecessary loss of black lives that happens on such a regular basis.  The song is called “Skittles and Ice Tea.”  If I do get around to recording it, I’ll plan to update this post with a link.

This one’s for Trayvon, so we don’t forget
That you’re gone because they didn’t see humanity but only a threat
He had a 9 millimeter you had Skittles and ice tea
RIP little homie you ain’t know me but you could’ve been me
You could’ve been me
You could’ve been me
You could’ve been me

Big ups to Kweli
I feel your pain
It’s kinda hard to write a club track when young blacks are being slain
Systematically tragically we dying in vain
That’s why I won’t rhyme like Lil Wayne
Being clever is imperative
You see I’m not known for punchlines I try but still I end up spitting narratives
Clearer than Claritin
When they dare to stare again
Young black American?
They be like “beware of him”
This is real truth telling
I be in the booth dwelling
On this situation that our youth fell in
You see the true felons
Are the ones that take our innocent lives, acquitted of crimes, dang
Whatever happened to equality and freedom?
We ain’t free from evil, modern strange fruit hanging from the tree trunk
And still I gotta debunk
The myth
Just because we got Obama as the president
That ain’t stop the hellishness

This one’s for Trayvon, so we don’t forget
That you’re gone because they didn’t see humanity but only a threat
He had a 9 millimeter you had Skittles and ice tea
RIP little homie you ain’t know me but you could’ve been me
You could’ve been me
You could’ve been me
You could’ve been me

Or maybe one of my brothers
This type of craziness is making me wonder
Whether we’re really moving forward or just struggling further
Because we used to say “DWB”
But now it seems that walking down the street’s enough that fiends be troubling me
For real?
You telling me that you can instigate an altercation, disobey police and start to chasing
Get away with murder?
And the major crux of your defense, in proving you was innocent, is that you saw a threat
Somehow that swayed the jurors?
It’s like the outcome was already scripted
How the verdict of the trial went just as predicted
You can tell that it’s a broken system
When the killer’s fear became more relatable than life of the victim
And while we cry
I’m surprised at the white and the Christian
Trying to imply that it was right how they sliced and they ripped him
They described him as wicked
They were blinded by priv’lege
This the vision caused him to die
Mama cries cuz she miss him

This one’s for Trayvon, so we don’t forget
That you’re gone because they didn’t see humanity but only a threat
He had a 9 millimeter you had Skittles and ice tea
RIP little homie you ain’t know me but you could’ve been me
You could’ve been me
You could’ve been me
You could’ve been me

Leave a Reply

