5 Reasons Why I Shouldn’t Be Blogging

Posted: May 31, 2010 in Lists, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

So I’ve finally decided to get back into blogging. I’ve been thinking about it for a good while now and I’ve finally decided to take the plunge. Why now? Well I’ve been sick for the last 3 days and don’t have much else I can do. That’s good enough motivation for me! Anyway, there are several reasons why I’ve been hesitant about entering into the blogosphere. Which leads me to this first post: 5 reasons why I shouldn’t be blogging. I’ve found that self-deprecation is a great way to either ease tension/lighten a mood or to make things awkward. If this first entry has either of these effects on you, then I will call this a successful entry. So without further ado:

1) Blogger’s Ego

Let’s face it.  For anyone to create a blog and publish it online, there’s most definitely an element of ego present.  Blogging is our way of saying that we think that whatever we have to write is so witty/funny/insightful/creative/etc. that the whole world should have access to it.  It seems like it would be very difficult to create a compelling blog without at least partially releasing the inner (or not-so-inner) narcissist.  I’m not entirely convinced that The Naborhood will be as interesting as implicitly advertised but here I am, writing anyway.  I’ll do my best to keep the pretentiousness to a minimum but I can’t promise anything.  Just do me a favor and let me know if I ever start sounding like Jerry Springer’s “Final Thoughts.”  Or Dr. Phil.  (shudder)

2) Lack of Focus/Randomness

Many of my favorite blogs center around a specific topic.  This blog will not.  I have a pretty broad spectrum of interests from sports to video games, fantasy novels to the Bible, hip-hop music to worship music, issues of social justice, racial reconciliation, culture…  In short, I plan on writing about whatever happens to interest me at the moment.  It’s possible that my posts might be all over the place in terms of subject matter.  And by the way, I meant this type of fantasy novel.  Not the other kind.  Just to be clear.

3) Me = Non-Confrontational

I’m really not one to rock the boat or engage in intense debates.  Debating tends to be pretty exhausting to me.  It’s not my nature.  What I’ve learned during my time on the interwebs is that many people LOVE to argue online.  I know that if I share my opinions on anything, it is possible that someone might challenge me on them, which is definitely outside my comfort zone.  And then I’ll have to muster the energy to respond to them in a thoughtful way while telling them why their opinion is wrong.  Ahem.

4) Commitment Issues

I have a friend who owns several blogs that she writes in.  She told me that if you want to grow your readership, you have to updated your page at least 3-4 times a week.  Whoah.  Eff that.  It has taken me months just to write this first entry!  Time will tell if I am able to commit to something that is totally non-essential to my day-to-day life. I’ll shoot for 1-2 times a week.

5) My thoughts have been scientifically proven to be so deep as to put readers at risk for spontaneous cerebral combustion.

Um, yeah.  So here’s 5 quick reasons why I’m choosing to blog anyway.

1) Outlet for Introspection

I’m a pretty introspective person by nature but I usually don’t leave myself a lot of time or space to process my thoughts.  Hopefully The Naborhood will be a nice place for me to go to  in order to spend more time working out my thoughts on various things.  Yep, there’s (obviously) a ton of self-interest motivating me to write.

2) Getting Back Into Writing

I haven’t done too much writing at all since college graduation–which was about 4 years ago.  I do enjoy writing and feel like it’s nice to get back into the groove.

3) Encouragement

In the midst of all my silliness, I do plan on writing about meaningful things as well.  Hopefully some of those things will be encouraging or at least thought-provoking to anyone who happens to read them.

4) Connecting With People

Definitely one of the greatest things about the internet is how it gives us the ability to connect with people so easily.  I think that blogs are also great tools for staying connected with those we already know.

5) Not expressing myself may cause me to experience spontaneous cerebral combustion.  Think Jason Statham in Crank.  Except for in my brain.

So there you have it.  5 mostly logical reasons why I shouldn’t be blogging and 5 more reasons why I’m choosing to blog anyway.  Whoomp there it is.  I thought you knew.

Comments
  1. Abe says:

    Very good start so far I must say. I applaud you for deciding to do a blog. I would’ve been too lazy.

    Oh Tony if you don’t remember me I played ball with you a few times last year occasionally, Austin’s friend. (Just so you don’t have the awkward “Who is this guy?” moment your head)

Leave a Reply

